Digging Up My Herb Bed

March 27, 2010

One of my tasks this weekend is to dig up my herb bed. When Charlie (my sweet husband) and I were discussing the possibility of not renewing our CSA and growing all our own veggies this year, he suggested that we move our herb bed. I love my herb bed, so I was resistant to the idea. But, he’s right, the herb plot is in prime real estate in our garden. It’s a fairly big, open plot right in the middle of our upper garden. It has great sun. On top of that, it’s in a raised bed, so it is fairly easy to work. Herbs are weeds. In general, they can handle sub-par conditions. My new herb garden will be planted in one of our more challenged planters (the soil isn’t great). Then, I’ll amend our former herb bed with a good dose of compost and some alfalfa meal, and we’ll plant veggies there this year.

Views from above and beside the herb bed


Leave a Reply

