Ginger Carrots

April 5, 2010

My apologies for the side ways picture. But, I wanted you to see how I weigh down the carrots with a second jar.


I made yummy fermented ginger carrots this week, and I thought I’d share. Here’s the recipe from Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon and Mary Enig:

4 c grated carrots, tightly packed
1 T freshly grated ginger
1 T sea salt
4 T Whey

In a bowl, mix all ingredients and pound with a wooden pounder or a meat hammer to release the juices. Place in a quart-sized, wide-mouth mason jar and press down firmly with a pounder or meat hammer until juices cover the carrots. The top of the carrots should be at least 1 inch below the top of the jar. (I set a clean jar filled with water on top to weigh down the carrots.) Cover with a cloth and leave at room temperature for three to five days before transferring to cold storage. Leave them out until they stop bubbling. Note: to ferment safely, you have to make sure that the carrots stay below the surface of the liquid the entire time. Also, make sure that the mason jar, as well as the jar you use as a weight are very clean.

Fermenting is a little intimidating at first. When I first started fermenting, I was was so concerned that I was going to make my family sick. There is a small amount of basic knowledge that you have to have to do it safely. But, once you get the hang of it, it’s quite fun. Plus you get all those fermented veggies, which are so wonderfully high in enzymes and probiotics.

Leave a Reply

