Swarm Capture Video

May 3, 2010

I’ve had several people ask me how to capture a swarm.   This video shows a man capturing a swarm out of a low branch on a tree- truly an ideal situation.  This is the same video that I watched before I captured my first swarm last year.

I’ll tell a quick story on myself.  If you hung out with me by the tree with the swarm on Friday, you may have seen that I put swarm lure into the bait hive to try to attract the swarm into the hive.    It came in a small, brown manila envelope- and that’s exactly how I put it into the hive.  On Saturday, my husband was setting up a new bait hive in the back yard.  Just before he closed it up, he opened the swarm lure envelope, opened a little vial of fluid that was inside and dumped it on the hive.   When I saw that, I felt- well, stupid is the word that comes to mind.  I’m not usually the ditzy type, so this was a new low. Sometimes you just have to laugh at yourself. No wonder my bait hive didn’t work at the park.  I’ll just call it a learning experience and move on.

2 Responses to “Swarm Capture Video”

  1. Rusty Says:

    Now why, when I did that, I got stung fourteen times across the face and neck? Maybe it was because I was standing 15 feet up in an oak tree way out on a small little limb, clipping with one hand while holding on for life with the other. Unfortunately, I did not catch it on video, but I did get the queen.

    • robinjohnsonsimpson Says:

      I know. I’m always fully suited when I go into my hives. Do you know how long the bees had been there when you captured them? I know that a dry swarm (been there for more than a day and has run out of food) will get sort of nasty.


Leave a Reply

