Maker Faire

May 19, 2010

Charlie had to drag me to the Maker Faire two years ago. I went, sort of rolling my eyes at his geek fest. Don’t get me wrong- I completely embrace my inner nerd. But, all this technical stuff? Not so much.

I was wrong. As we entered, the first thing we saw was a huge kinetic sculpture which spouted fire. Then, we ran into knee-high motorized rolling cupcakes. Then, we saw a game of Mouse Trap- but it was life size. Then, there was the diet coke and mentos show. Battle bots, compost, kombucha, chocolate, lego mindstorm, a huge tesla coil– I could go on and on. Buy someone’s used t-shirt and transfer on an image from a new and upcoming artist. Lots and lots of re-using everything you can think of. To get the feel of the Maker Faire, think about a PhD in Engineering married to Burning Man. Just so wonderfully quirky, creative, artsy, crunchy, funky. In other words, we shut the place down- the kids fell asleep in the car on the way home. I love it when I’m so wonderfully wrong.

If you’re going to be in the Bay Area this weekend, you should consider going. Our family has tickets for both Saturday and Sunday. We’d love to see you there.

5 Responses to “Maker Faire”

  1. Leanne Says:

    We’ll see you there.

  2. LisaBL Says:

    Love it! We call it the Well Lit Place For Burning Man

  3. robinjohnsonsimpson Says:

    The San Francisco Chronicle’s headline last night was “Arts and Crafts Meet Burning Man”. So, so fun. I’m tired this morning.


  4. […] 28, 2010 This was the most memorable part of the Maker Faire for me this year. Totally unreal. I left their performance feeling excited, overwhelmed and […]


  5. […] can read what I’ve said in the past about the Maker Faire here and here. It’s anything you can make, or be involved in making. Recycling and upcycling any […]


Leave a Reply

