Essential Oils

June 8, 2010

All of my decadent essential oils came in the mail yesteday. I purchased from both Bramble Berry and Mountain Rose Herbs. I’m looking forward to learning more about how scent works and about how the different essential oils behave. I ordered some basic essentials oils like sweet orange and patchouli. But, I also ordered some interesting oils which included black pepper and marjoram- these would be used in tiny amounts. Think about how the tiniest bit of anise makes bread yummy- even if you don’t like licorice. This is how black pepper and marjoram would work in a scent.

I have a lot to learn. At this point, my knowledge set with scent is pretty limited. I know that there are top notes to a fragrance, which are usually floral or citrus. There are oils that you use to support the top notes- they’re called modifiers. Jasmine and rose are good examples of modifiers. And then there are base notes, such as sandalwood, oakmoss and patchouli.

I’m getting some good feedback from my wonderful testers! I’m learning what’s working and what’s not. Hopefully, the next batches of soap will be better because of this. If you have input on scent, I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

