The Garden in July

July 22, 2010

I love my summertime garden! July is absolutely glorious. I’ll tell the story with pictures.

I have to start with the girls. Here, they’re going crazy after I’ve turned the compost. Worms, pill bugs, earwigs and beetles- a veritable feast!

The corn is really tall- over my head. The squirrels are already tearing into the ears. If only bee bee guns were legal in Belmont . . . I know, I know, all my animal loving friends- but they’re eating my veggies!

The tomatoes are getting bigger. I’m probably a month away from getting good tomatoes.

Who knew that artichoke blossoms were so beautiful?

The sunflowers are absolutely spectacular. Way over my head- maybe eight to ten feet tall. Why haven’t I grown these beauties before??? I was concerned about the wind toppling them over. But, they’ve done very well!

The green beans are blossoming.

And we’re starting to get a few beans.

Truly, July is glorious- I love gardening!!!

5 Responses to “The Garden in July”

  1. Leanne Says:

    Looking good.

  2. suzanne Says:

    hi robin- suzanne from charlie’s old ecomm team here… first of all — love your blog! your garden looks gorgeous.

    I had a quick pest question for you. I am growing some winter squash, and things have been going quite well until a couple days ago when the leaves begin to wilt and in some cases turn yellow. there are some bugs under the leaves that look like aphids. could they be causing the wilt? I sprayed them with soap, but I’m not sure if it’s too late to save them. any organic pest control advice?

    -suzanne

    • robinjohnsonsimpson Says:

      How wonderful and totally unexpected to see you here! Glad you’re enjoying reading- it’s been fun for me to write it.

      I’m not an expert on this. I’m guessing that your aphids could be causing the problem. The best organic fix is a strong garden hose. But, what I’ve found is that the aphids are a big attractor of lady beetles. My recommendation is that you take the hit with the aphids for a time until the lady beetles come in to eat the aphids. I had a pretty significant aphid problem earlier this year on my artichokes. They were absolutely covered for a few weeks, even with hosing them down daily. Then, I began to see more and more ladybugs on my artichoke plants. It wound up being a great thing in my garden. My two cents.

      Anyone else have advice for Suzanne?

      Suzanne, great to hear from you, and I hope you’re doing well!

  3. suzanne Says:

    thanks robin! the more I look at the plants, I think it could be the dreaded squash vine borer. yuck! they are kind of mushy at the stem. I’ll investigate further. the lady beetles are a great idea though for aphids. I’d almost forgotten to get some this year. they seem to always help with aphid control.

  4. Matt is right Says:

    BB Guns aren’t legal?!?! Holy Christ! Are slingshots (at least)!?!? Are you raising a bunch of pansies out there or what? Go ahead and get yourself a BB Gun in protest, but be careful; you’ll shoot your eye out! Enjoy freedom while you can.


Leave a Reply

