Good Guide

August 25, 2010

Check out this website called Good Guide, which was recommended in The Story of Stuff. As I’ve learned more about the impact of consuming stuff, it’s become more stressful to buy anything. Good Guide is a great tool. They score products based on the health, environmental and social impact of a product.

Let me give you an example:

I was curious about the Banana Boat sunscreen that I’ve been slathering on my kids over the last few years, so I searched on the Good Guide website. As it turns out, our sunscreen contains oxybenzone, which is a developmental/reproductive toxin. The website Cosmetics Database gave oxybenzone a 9 out of 10 in terms of toxicity and listed it as a “high hazard”. Click here to see more about the social and environmental impact of my sunscreen. Not so good.

Oh man! My daughter is very, very fair, and she burns easily. I’m a very liberal sun screen user. That won’t change, but is there a better product? I looked at Good Guide’s recommended sun screens, and I’ll likely change back to Badger, which I’ve used in the past. It’s more expensive, but it doesn’t contain any toxic ingredients, and it does pretty well in terms of its social and environmental impact. Click here if you want to see Good Guide’s ratings for Badger sunscreen.

Also, check out their iphone app, which lets you scan products and check them while at the store. I don’t have an iphone, but if I did, this is something that I would definitely use. Click here to get more information on the iphone app.

Leave a Reply

