Washington DC

August 31, 2010

Charlie and I are headed to Washington DC (via Tennessee) with our children. I’m trying to balance my need for our children to see places of historical significance with their need to see water parks. So far, we’ve got tours booked for the Capitol Building and the Frederick Douglass House. I missed the boat for White House tours, which have to be booked 30 days in advance. Bummer! I also have all the information printed out for the National Archives and the Bureau of Engraving and Printing. When we were in DC last time, we saw the Museum of Natural History and the Museum of American History, along with Mount Vernon.

I would love to hear your recommendations!

And water parks? As I say to my children so frequently “I’m open to discussing it”. Alas, this is one of the many reasons why I married Charlie- he brings fun into our family.

4 Responses to “Washington DC”


  1. I’ve always loved the “Changing of the Guard” at Arlington.

    http://www.arlingtoncemetery.org/ceremonies/sentinelsotu.html

    The Library of Congress is also a quick stop and an amazing building inside.

    I also found the Vietnam and Korean War memorials very moving.

  2. Andy Says:

    My spouse would heartily recommend the Postal Museum as well. The Holocaust Museum might not be age-appropriate for now, but should be explored in future years. I thoroughly enjoyed the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum and the National Art Gallery at the Smithsonian as well. They are all right there together on “Smithsonian Row” at the National Mall. Have they been to any of the monuments? You could easily fill up a week(as I did) doing nothing but the monuments and the Smithsonian museums.


  3. Since you are driving and heading from South to North, I would route through Charlottesville, VA to Jefferson’s home, Monticello. The vegetable garden itself is worth the stop (http://monticello.org/gardens/vegetable/index.html)
    Jefferson really was our nations first “foodie”. Their big Heritage Harvest Festival is Sept. 11. If you go, take pictures for me!
    Stephanie


  4. My daughter wants to visit the International Spy Museum. They have what sounds like a cool interactive “experience” through the museum:

    http://www.spymuseum.org/missions/operation-spy

    The museum sounds fun whether or not you choose the extras. A stop we are sure to make when we finally make our trip to DC. Have a wonderful time.

    Christine


Leave a Reply

