Three Words

February 5, 2011

http://www.flickr.com/photos/treehouse1977/4954808039/

Last year, influenced by our good friend John, my husband chose three words that would help to shape his goals for the year. Because his words also worked for me, I piggy backed on his words and used them myself. Holistic. Expertise. Prototype. I would love for Charlie to write his own story about how these three words shaped his year. They shaped my year, too, but that’s a story for another day.

When I was at the Freedom Summit, I decided that I wanted my own words for 2011. My own words to help shape the activities that I choose to engage with. Learn. Pray. Write. This year, I want to learn more about the issue of human trafficking. I want to learn more about the Fair Trade movement and how it works. I want to learn how to start a business. I want to learn more about soap making and ingredients and suppliers. I want to learn more about how I can decrease the areas where I am a part of the problem and increase the areas where I am a part of the solution. I want to learn how to best balance homeschooling my kids with all my other goals (wishing myself good luck with that one). I also want to pray this year. Pray for God’s guidance as I head into potentially starting a business. Pray for wisdom that I will do right by other people. Pray for wisdom that I will be a good steward. Family. Friends. Planet. Money. The last centering word is write. As I’m learning and praying during the next year, I want to write about that journey.

So, there it is. Stay tuned.

Image by via flickr used under a Creative Commons
license
.

Leave a Reply

