Honey for what?

March 1, 2011

Last week, my friend Sarah told me about how she had been using honey as a cleanser for her face. She had gotten the recommendation from a post on the Miss Minimalism blog. She said that she loved it. It worked well and left her face very soft.

I know that honey has antibacterial properties. Interestingly, the reason that you add honey to soap is that it is a humectant- it draws moisture to the skin. This made sense to me. I was looking at a cleanser that had the potential to clear up break outs and make my skin softer. It was worth a try. The bottom line is that I love it! Charlie is using it now as well. Use maybe a teaspoon full and rub it into your skin with a tiny smidge of water. Rinse and you’re done. If you’re using raw honey, which tends to crystallize, you have the added benefit that it’s a mild exfoliant. With honey being so easy on the waste stream, I’m just not sure what the down side is. I would encourage you to give it and try and let me know what you think.

4 Responses to “Honey for what?”

  1. lauren Says:

    very cool! i have been using jojoba oil which has worked great but isn’t locally produced and comes in very small plastic bottles. i will definitely consider this.

  2. Linnaea K Says:

    I’m not sure that I could pull the honey away from my bears – who are pretty addicted to honey in their tea, on their oatmeal, and on cornbread. Our raw honey is almost gone thanks to how dedicated they are to appreciating your bees’ product!

  3. Lisa Says:

    Wow! I would have never thought to try this, but am willing to give this a try!


Leave a Reply

