Cous Cous Salad

July 24, 2011

Last Thursday was a warm day here in Menlo Park. On warm days, I’m always thinking about how to cool down my dinner routine. In my cabinet, I had a box of Canaan Fair Trade cous cous from my Hungry for Change box from Trade as One. Thursday is also the day that I pick up my vegetable box from my Mariquita Farm drop site, which meant that I had a lot of fresh organic veggies on hand. I love cold grain-based salads, so I decided to throw one together.

First, I threw the cous cous into the rice cooker to get that going. Now the veggies- among the vegetables in my veggie box were zucchini and peppers. I also had mushrooms in the fridge, which needed to be cooked. Except for the mushrooms, I cut everything into slices. I then tossed them with olive oil, salt and pepper- and threw them on the grill. I love cold grilled vegetables. When the veggies and cous cous were cooked, I put them in the fridge to let them cool down.

Next, I opened a couple of cans of beans that I had on hand and rinsed them. I used kidney beans and garbanzo beans. I also added kalamata olives, capers and pine nuts. My Mariquita Farms veggie box also included some fresh chives. I chopped these finely and threw all the ingredients together in a large bowl with a bit of red wine vinegar, a good slunk of Bariani olive oil, fresh ground pepper and kosher salt. I chilled the salad for a couple of hours in the fridge to get it nice and cold and to let the flavors meld. I was out of cheese, but it’s always a great addition. I’ve often used small fresh mozzarella balls or shaved parmesan. So yummy and perfect for a warm evening.

What’s your favorite summer salad or dish for a hot day?

3 Responses to “Cous Cous Salad”

  1. Andy Says:

    We often eat cold, sweet watermelon for dinner in the summertime. It’s been a sweltering summer for us…you definitely wouldn’t miss this part of Tennessee.

    • Robin Johnson Simpson Says:

      Yum! One of our favorites in the summer is cantaloupe with prosciutto. I love salty and sweet together. I remember eating watermelon with salt when I was little.

  2. Carolyn Says:

    A slunk of oil? Sounds a lot like the Swedish word “slurk” which means the same thing….


Leave a Reply

