What do you love?

August 11, 2011

I spent time yesterday with a dear friend at the park while our children played.  She was sharing about a stretching/difficult time that she had gone through a few years back.  In the midst of it, her husband asked her “what do you love?”.  A disturbing and hard question if you’re not used to paying attention to it.  Or if the answers might necessitate some change.  At first, she resisted.  Her husband gently led the way and explored what he loved.  He found that some of the things on the list were things that he thought were interesting or cool- but he didn’t really love them.  I love this couple.  They are living their lives intentionally- and I deeply respect that.  So, I’m going to engage in this exercise here on my blog.  My hope is that maybe some of you will also pause to reflect on what you love.  What feeds your soul?  What nourishes your spirit?  So, here’s my first attempt:

  • I love my family.
  • I love God.
  • I love to travel.  It also makes me uncomfortable.  But, I love to have new experiences.  It makes life richer.
  • I love it that God made me unique.  I am a particular person with a particular neurological/physiological make up.  God put me in my particular family.  Gave me my particular husband and children.
  • I love that I can  be involved in the way that God wants to reconcile people to Himself here on earth.
  • I love doing things well.
  • I love having a deep understanding of a complex problem.
  • I love learning.  I love school.  I love making good grades.
  • I love it when my body feels strong.
  • I love to be a good friend.
  • I love a good book.
  • I love lingering over a latte in a real cup.  It’s even better if my latte is beautiful with a heart or a flower in the foam.
  • I love delicious smells- whether they be food or essential oils.
  • I love freedom.
  • I love being creative.  When I’m “being creative” because I’m supposed to be, I don’t love it (Creative Memories).  But, when it comes out of a desire to create something beautiful just for the beauty and pleasure of the activity, I truly enjoy it.
  • I love cooking a beautiful meal for an appreciative audience.  I don’t love slinging hash for my kids.
  • I love eating a beautiful meal that I didn’t prepare.
  • I love doing hard things.
  • I love to do things that frighten me.  Not in a roller coaster kind of way.  But, in a life kind of way.
  • I love wisdom.  I want to be wise.
  • I love investing in my children.  I’m genuinely energized by the idea of them becoming functioning human beings who can be in long-term relationships.  I love teaching them to follow their passions.   I love expecting them to engage in service.   I’m excited to see who they become.  I’m praying that they will find soul-feeding paths early in life.
  • I love to love on my husband.  I love to see him healthy and happy and thriving.  I love it when I get to be a part of him making choices that feed his body and soul.
  • I love justice.  It feeds my soul to be involved in justice.
  • I love getting to love on children who are having a hard time.  I love being a safe harbor.
  • I love having sensory integration issues- because I get it when other people have sensory issues.  I see them and love them when others may find their sensitivities annoying.  Crazy, huh?
  • I don’t love having an auditory processing issue.  But, I do love that I can look at my son who has a hard time with reading and know that his future is bright and that it’s a long season.  I didn’t come into my own as a learner until I was in my twenties, so I’m happy to give my boy all the time he needs to learn to read.  I love “getting” my kids.  I love understanding them.  I want to understand them even better.

What about you?  What do you love?  What feeds your soul?

5 Responses to “What do you love?”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    Yea! Love, love, love this!!! 🙂


  2. It’s so fun to just sit and explore the things God has put on your heart. I am also in a similar season of just asking God to show me who I am and part of that is discovering and not being ashamed of what i love…
    a few things….
    i love simplicity
    i love love
    i love dancing with God
    i love to worship
    i love to write
    i love to mentor young women- women of all ages for that matter
    i love the topic of identity in Christ- and long for every women to know who they are
    i love going on adventures with jesus
    i love the life he’s given me
    i love the ocean
    i love running
    i love baking
    i love early mornings
    i love encouraging people
    i love friendship and my friends
    i love the seasons of life

    🙂

    • Robin Johnson Simpson Says:

      I love this, Charissa! Thanks for sharing your heart! I’ve been inundated with this idea of just being who we are over the last month. It seems God-honoring to fully be who we were created to be.

  3. stephanie Says:

    Really enjoyed reading your list. …what we love, truly love, does dictate our actions, doesn’t it? Thanks for sharing.

    • Robin Johnson Simpson Says:

      I’m hoping so, Stephanie. Why do we find it a struggle to do what we love? But, that’s how I want to live- being who God made me to be and doing what He made me to do.


Leave a Reply

