Packaging

October 17, 2012

Just a bit about our packaging today. My sister Betsy generously offered to help me with branding and packaging. She worked with our designer Lora to do the logo, and she also did all the packaging prototypes. Phew- big help for me! I love what she came up with.

Honestly, from an environmental standpoint, I love the idea of having no packaging. But, packaging is important. For most people in the retail setting, it’s what moves the product off the shelf initially. If the customer buys it again, it’s because they loved the product. The initial draw, though, is the packaging. For now, we’re going with variations of what you see above. These bags are made by Fair Trade Federation member Distant Village. Distant Village is a great company. They’re very ethical, and they make beautiful packaging. The material is called sinamay. It is made from renewable banana fibers in a fair trade shop in the Philippines.  Here’s my quandary: I’m not sure how durable the fabric is. I would love to have packaging that is reusable. I ordered a few colors. In the long haul, I think I’ll only be able to get their bags in natural. We’ll see how they perform and how people like them.

I also ordered some burlap bags with a jute draw cord. What I like about these bags is that they’re more durable, and I think that people will be more able to re-use them. There are a couple of drawbacks, though. They are more expensive, and they are not Fair Trade.

Please let me know what you think of the packaging. If you love it or hate it, we want to know!

Our shipping materials were the most environmentally friendly ones that I could find. The boxes and paper shred  are both made from recycled paper. Here’s what they look like boxed up and ready to ship:

That’s it for today. Thanks for reading!

2 Responses to “Packaging”

  1. Denise Says:

    The packaging looks lovely, Robin. I deeply appreciate your efforts to navigate the marketplace in the most sustainable and ethical way possible; you have to stay in business (appeal to your market) in order to do great things in fair trade. What a delicate balancing act!

  2. Andy Says:

    Have you considered packaging that might also double as a loofa(sp?)?

    The site looks great!

    So proud of you!

    Andy


Leave a Reply

