Simplify and Declutter: Day 9 of 10

February 4, 2013

For ten days this January, we’re decluttering our house from top to bottom. We’re using Tsh Oxenreider’s ten-day plan from her book Organized Simplicity: The Clutter-Free Approach to Intentional Living.   Please see the links at the bottom to read about our entire household declutter.

Oxenreider devotes day 9 of the household declutter to the Master Bedroom.

I’ve already done a lot of decluttering in our bedroom, but we had areas that we hadn’t touched since we moved into our rental two years ago.

Book Case

Charlie and I took all the books out of the book case. We kept only those books that we re-read yearly or that we can’t get at the library. Among the books we kept were C. S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia  and J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series. We also kept all my books on poverty and human trafficking. They’re niche books that address both of these topics from a Christian perspective. I don’t expect that I’ll be able to get them from the library. I want to be able to re-read and loan out all these books. I gave away almost all my other books. Here are some that went:

IMG_1358

Here’s what our book case looks like now.

IMG_1359

We also have a built-in book case devoted to library books.

Our Closets

Charlie and I share two closets. One has shelves where we put all our folded clothes. The other is where we hang all our hanging clothes. We don’t own a dresser. My clothes are already pared down, so I only had a few things to give away. If you’re curious, you’re welcome to read about my year-long experiment in living with less clothing here. Charlie was ready to do a deep purge on his wardrobe. This is delicate territory. Purging ones closet. I asked him how involved he wanted me to be. He said that he would do it and ask my opinion when he wanted it. That plan seemed to work well.

Here’s what went:

IMG_1362

Here’s what he wound up keeping:

IMG_1369

In our other closet are his folded clothes, which are mainly socks, underwear and work out gear.

We also took everything out from underneath our bed. Included were keepsakes for both our children. Letters from mine and Charlie’s courtship. Portfolios where I keep the children’s artwork. My wedding dress is also under our bed. I wore my mother’s 1957 wedding dress for our wedding, and I’m not ready to give it a new home at this point. There were more than a few dust bunnies to chase away.

My Two Favorite Things

Below are my two favorite things about cleaning out our room.

First, our cozy reading nook.   I love this little corner in our room.  It consists of two mis-matched chairs with a home-made table and a lamp from freecycle.  Charlie and I love this space.  He works from home on many Fridays.  He and I often hole up in our room for a few minutes and share a latte or maybe even a quick lunch.  Elizabeth also reads to me here.

DSC_0022

I also love our simplified bed.  The inspiration came from my friend Jacki’s blog.  We took the duvet off and just left it plain.  It’s been bugging us for a while.  It constantly needed to be adjusted, and it was a pain to get it on and off for cleaning.  So, we took it off.   I just throw it in the washing machine about once a month.  So much easier!

DSC_0021

We are now officially in the home stretch.

Click on the links below to learn more about our household declutter:

Day 1: Trash and surface clutter

Day 2: Living Area Day 1

Day 3: Living Area Day 2

Days 4 and 5: Kitchen

Day 6: Bathrooms

Days 7 and 8: Children’s Bedrooms

Day 10:  Entrances

Leave a Reply

