No No Go Daddy

February 15, 2013

HG-Logo-Without-com-RBG-72dpi

I’ve been sitting with the Go Daddy Superbowl ad for over a week.  I’m still upset by what I saw.  I’m fortunate that we’re not football fans in our household.  None of us sat down to watch the game.  Charlie and the Elder and I both look forward to Superbowl ads each year.  I watched some of the ads back in our bedroom on my iPhone.  The Go Daddy ad was one of them.  Charlie and I haven’t had a TV since we got married 15 years ago.  So, I think I’m probably more sensitive to media than your average Joe.  But, Go Daddy’s ads were over the line.  I shouldn’t have to protect my children from commercials early on a Sunday evening.  Thankfully, my kids didn’t see it.  But, a lot of kids did see it.  As I dialoged with my husband about this, I was trying to figure out the most constructive thing that I could do.   From talking with Charlie, I know that Go Daddy has a history of pushing the envelope.  He read that they had submitted a number of edgy ads, and the ads shown were the ones that the network approved.  Go Daddy probably doesn’t care if this soccer mom was offended by their ads.  But, if there were enough of us who changed our web hosting to another vendor, they might start to listen.  I can tell you that Go Daddy won’t get our company’s business.  I want to encourage those of you who pay Go Daddy for web hosting to consider another vendor.  If they ask you why you’re changing, tell them.  Our website is hosted by Host Gator.  From Charlie’s research, they have a good reputation.  Here is an article that goes into some of the detail that compelled us to use Host Gator.  I would encourage you to give them a try.

2 Responses to “No No Go Daddy”

  1. Harriet Says:

    I used to use Go daddy as a host and I stopped a while ago, in part because if their offensive ads and their web site. I totally agree; that SuperBowl ad was inappropriate. It was also just gross. And I’m not someone who gets offended or grossed out easily. Everyone in the room with me had the same reaction- men and women of all ages. Luckily, the kids were out playing. I wish I had been outside too.

  2. Debbie Says:

    I was offended by the ad too. It’s terrible on multiple fronts – GoDaddy consistently projects an image of women as sex objects, and this one made the male computer geek look awful as well. Plus the ad was repulsive. No hint of the values I want to see our society uphold! Hurray for suggesting we buy our computer services elsewhere.


Leave a Reply

