Sowing Gratitude

March 5, 2013

In a little over a week, Charlie and I will be doing a beans and rice lenten fast with our church.   We’ll be doing the Hungry for Change  program from Trade as One.  For five days, we’ll be eating the type and amount (read:  simple and less) of food that 2 billion people eat globally- those living on less than $2 a day.  I’m looking forward to doing this fast in community with others at my church- sort of.  I say sort of because it was hard when we did it last year.  I’m painfully aware of my humanity.  My children both groaned when they found out that we would be doing Hungry for Change again.  Because they know.  When I get hungry, I get grumpy and short-tempered.  When I am hungry, I tire easily and am mentally fuzzy.  So, why?

  • Because scarcity breeds gratitude.
  • Because I want to be in touch with the experience of the world’s poor.
  • Because I want to hear God.
  • Because I want God to change me.
  • Because I want to be used by God.
  • Because I want to understand fasting better than I do.

In closing, I want to share one of the results of our fast last year.  Gratitude.  The fast last year sowed deep gratitude in my heart.  While gratitude is wonderful, I’m praying that my gratitude will push toward change this year.  I’m praying that my feeling of gratitude won’t stop with just being a word and a feeling- but that God would use my gratitude to push toward justice and change.  But, gratitude is a start.  Here is my gratitude chart from last year.  I would love to hear from you if you’ve fasted in the past.  Did it change you in any way?  I’d love to know.

DSC_0021

Leave a Reply

